Owners Login

You are in: Home Informations about Sicily Tourist places Aeolian islands

Aeolian islands

Print this page List: Tourist places

The Aeolian islands, natural elements.

 Land, fire, air and water are just four simple and primordial words to describe alla the essence of the Aeolian Islands.

The land i primitive generous and cruel; the fire of the underwater volcanoes that emerged to for the islands as far back as 700.000 years ago; the air of the Mediterranean that you breathe, soaked in history and nature; the water, with profound memories that have witnessed the passing, and at times the drowning, of centuries of sailors.

The Aeolian archipelago is composed of the islands (and smaller islands), with only seven of them inhabited: Vulcano, Panarea, Lipari, Salina, Filicudi, ALicudi and Stromboli.

From a geographical and administrative poing of view they belong to Sicily and have a population of around 12.000 inhabitants.

Other than tourism, the main activities are agriculture and the mining industry. The first is particularly known for its capers, raisins and magic Malvasia, an enchanting wine; the second gives us volcanic material and pumice.

Linked by the sea, origin and history, the various islands each have their own distinct and very clear characteristics. Let's try and take a quick look at them one by one.

La pagina ha impiegato 0.0159 secondi